How to Delete Photos from iCloud

How to Delete Photos from iCloud: iCloud is just an online service that keeps all your Apple devices in sync. iCloud Drive and iCloud Photo Library keeps all your documents, photos and videos stored and updated securely everywhere. The upsetting thing about iCloud is that it only offers 5GB of free storage beyond that users will have to pay for extra storage. But the good part is, if you regularly keep checking the backups, photos, and videos stored in iCloud and delete the unwanted data from your library then you can save storage and money both. 

If you have hundreds of photos then it will take up almost the entire space on iCloud making you unable to store new data. But if you know how to delete photos from iCloud then you don’t have anything to worry about. In this article, we will tell how you can delete photos from iCloud and save some space for your new data.

How to Delete Photos from iCloud

How to Delete Photos from iCloud

How to Delete Photos from iCloud

Method 1: Follow the steps mentioned in the Apple Support website

You can free up iCloud storage space by deleting photos and videos you don’t want to keep.

  • If you turned on iCloud Photos on your iOS device (iOS 8.1 or later) or Mac (OS X 10.10.3 or later), the photos or videos that you delete are removed from iCloud and from all your devices where iCloud Photos is turned on.
  • If you didn’t turn on iCloud Photos on your iOS device or Mac, you can delete photos or videos from the Camera Roll album on your iOS device, so they aren’t included in your iCloud backup.

Delete photos or videos

  • In the Photos app on your iOS device (iOS 8.1 or later), tap Photos at the bottom of the screen, then view your photos and videos by moments.
  • Tap Select, tap one or more photos or videos, then tap.
  • Tap Delete items.

You can also delete photos and videos using the Photos app on your Mac (OS X 10.10.3 or later) or iCloud.com. See Use iCloud Photos to store photos in iCloud in the Photos User Guide. Deleted photos and videos are placed in the Recently Deleted album on your device, where they remain for 30 days. After that, items are permanently removed from all your devices set up for iCloud Photos.

You can remove items from your devices before the 30 days is up. On your iOS device, in the Recently Deleted album, tap Select, tap to select one or more items, tap Delete, then tap Delete items.

Delete photos or videos from Camera Roll

  • If you’re not using iCloud Photos, before you delete photos or videos from the Camera Roll on your iOS device, you can import them to your computer. See the Apple Support article Transfer photos and videos from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
  • In the Photos app, tap Albums, then tap Camera Roll.
  • Tap Select, tap one or more photos or videos, then tap.
  • Tap Delete items.

ALSO CHECK: How to Host on Twitch

Method 2: AnyTrans for iOS

It is easy to use software through which you can delete all your photos from iCloud at once.

  • Download AnyTrans for iOS and launch it on your computer. Click on iCloud Manager then sign in with your iCloud account.

Download AnyTrans for iOS

  • Go to the Manage iCloud Photos section or page. Now choose Photos.

Manage iCloud Photos

  • Preview all the pictures and select the ones that you want to remove. Click on the Delete icon.

Preview all the pictures

  • And all your selected pictures are deleted.

Method 3: CopyTrans Cloudly

This is another easy to use software through which you can delete all your photos from iCloud at once.

  • Download CopyTrans Cloudy on your computer and launch it. Sign in with your iCloud account.

Download CopyTrans Cloudy

  • If you have turned two-step verification ON on your Apple device then you will receive a 6-digit numeric code.

two-step verification

  • Enter the verification code.

Enter the verification code

  • Log in to your iCloud Photo Library and wait for all the photos and videos to load.

iCloud Photo Library

  • Preview all the pictures and select the ones that you want to remove. Click on the Delete icon.

Click on the Delete icon

  • And all your selected pictures are deleted.

Click on the Delete icon

Method 4: Delete Photos from My Photo Stream

When My Photo stream in iPhone is turned on in the iPhone, iPad or iPod, it automatically saves the photos and videos and sends them to all the iCloud devices when connected to Wi-Fi. It makes two copies of the photos and videos which take double storage. Hence, it is recommended that you switch off My Photo Stream on your device(s).

  • To turn off My Photo Stream, open photos on your Apple device. Go to Albums. Then go to My Photo Stream. Click on select and choose all the photos and videos. Tap on Delete icon and delete all the photos and videos from My Photo Stream.
  • Go to Settings on your device. Click on Photos & Camera. Turn off My Photo Stream.

Turn off My Photo Stream

ALSO CHECK: Fix M7111-1931-404 Netflix Error

Method 5: Disable iCloud Photos Library

iCloud Photo Library is somewhat similar to Google Photos. It keeps a backup of all your photos and videos which you can access anytime from anywhere you want. It also creates collections, memories and years albums to give a glimpse of amazing moments of your life. If you wish to remove photos and videos from iCloud and save some space, you can turn off the backup of the Photo Library option in iCloud settings.

  • Go to Settings and tap on iCloud.
  • Go to Manage. Click on Photos. Tap on Disable and Delete.

Tap on Disable and Delete

  • Come back to the iCloud settings page. Under the list of Apps using iCloud, turn off Photos.

Method 6: Deleting Photos from Web Browser

Photos and videos on iCloud can also be deleted from the Web Browser. All you need is an internet connection, your Apple ID and password.

  • Open your browser. Go to iCloud.com and log in with your Apple ID.

Go to iCloud.com

  • Click on Photos on iCloud.com. Tap on Select icon on the top right corner of the menu bar.

Click on Photos on iCloud.com

  • Select all the photos and videos that you wish to delete.
  • Tap on Delete. You have now successfully saved some space on your iCloud.

space on your iCloud

Above mentioned are a few tried and tested methods of deleting photos and videos from iCloud and saving storage on your iCloud for more important data, documents and/or backup. These methods are fully reliable. We hope you find them helpful as well.

Leave a Reply